Challenge of the Week // Home Town Exploration

I have a tendency to think we take advantage of where we live. I’m sure you’ve heard “the grass is always greener on the other side”, suggesting we are envious of what is foreign, different and something other than what we have because that’s familiar and boring.

While studying abroad,one of the most fun topics to discuss is where everyone is from. People talk about what their city is like, their University, favorite spots to hang out, fun events during the year, that kind of thing.

I live in California, southern California no less, in the beautiful city of sunny San Diego. I am nestled in a quaint beach town amongst an abundance of bars, yoga studios, sushi restaurants, bike shops, tattoo studios, cafés/restaurants and street art. Pacific Beach is such a beautiful, fun, young neighborhood of San Diego. I love where I live and sometimes I forget how lucky I am to live here.

For instance, this morning I biked to the beach to go for a run. I went past this painting on the side of the wall, as I do almost every day. It’s next to a auto workshop and I’ve always thought it to be a cool accent to the wall near an automobile repair shop. I love the old style car and the vintage feel about it.

Vintage  car street art

Vintage car street art

Later, I was having breakfast and to my right was this beautiful beverage station for the employees to prepare tea, coffee and mimosas. I love the jade tiles and gorgeous embellished wood work.

Having breakfast at Isabelle's Cantina

Having breakfast at Isabelle’s Cantina

To me this challenge isn’t just about living in a desirable place, but seeing the place in a new, appreciative light. I truly believe there are great parts to every city – small details that go mostly unnoticed but enhance the city’s appeal. What hidden gem in your town make it special?

I certainly am not done scoping out the unexpected aspects of PB and the rest of San Diego. Would you like to see me post more cool pictures of a beautiful building, restaurant, or street art when I stumble upon them?

xo, Stevie

Leave a Reply

